New Forest Ponies

We started the day with an early morning swim and luckily we had the pool to ourselves. Then it was back to the room to pack up as we had to check out by 11am.

I asked at reception where the best place was to see the New Forest ponies, and she suggested Brockenhurst or Beaulieu, so we set off for Brockenhurst but we didn't see any so carried on to Beaulieu.  As we drove through the forest we came across a small heard, so I parked the car up and we went to see them.  There was a grey one who was very friendly and came over to me the minute it saw me, and let me stroke it, and then Scarlett.  Some of the others weren't so friendly though and had their ears back, so we left them alone.

As we were going to go back to the car I spotted some others near the car, including this mother and her very young foal.  We watched them for some time and the little foal started to cross the road to where Rach and the girls were stood, until a car came along and stopped, so it wandered back to mum.  The woman in the car wound her window down and had a bit of a go at Rachel, telling her that she was stupid encouraging a young horse into the road!  Rach told her she'd done no such thing and that they were just stood watching it.  

We then went to Mottisfont a National Trust property, where we had lunch and then went to have a look at the rose garden which was absolutely stunning.  On checking the time, it was nearly 3pm, so we decided not to go into the house as we really needed to start heading home.  

Our journey back was ok, although we drove through torrential rain, and we got home just before 6pm.  Alan had put the girls' dinner in the oven so it was almost ready when we got home.

Oh, and this morning I got sent a message from one of my Brighton Skies friends to tell me that I had a double page spread in or local newspaper of my D-Day 75 photos! I’m really chuffed as it’s just my images, so Alan popped to the shop at lunch time to pick up a few copies for me - I thought it would be nice for the Rach to have copies for the girls as a keepsake.

We're all really tired after a very busy few days, and I haven't had chance to look at your journals, so I'm sorry, but I'm behind again! 

Anyway, it's Friday, so I'll wish you all a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.