A wet chive flower

I'd intended to go up to Minchinhampton Common this evening to watch the skylarks and possibly the highland cows. I checked the weather forecast which suggested that the brightness in the sky would be departing to be replaced by showers and clouds.

Instead I made a cup of tea and while looking out of the back door onto the patio I saw a  bee investigating these chive flowers, which recently bloomed. By the time I'd brought out my camera, the bees had gone, so I watched the masses of tits as they devoured the contents of the restocked feeders.

Then the rains came and  for nearly an hour I could only stand in the doorway. A little later I walked onto the back steps and poked my lens at the chive flowers and despite the poor light I tried to get some close up detail. Spots of the rain remain on the flowers. But really I should have got my tripod out and not stood bent double trying to keep the camera still. There's always tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.