Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Shaw Lodge Mill, Halifax

SUNDAY

Only 702 steps at 4 pm meant that I needed to get myself in gear and do some serious stepping.

I walked through North Dean Woods down into Copley and then along the Rochdale Canal to Salterhebble and then took the Hebble trail into Halifax. The only traffic I encountered in 6 km was two cars and one canal boat.

On reaching Halifax I called in at the Piece Hall for a coffee and was entertained by a flautist who also told jokes and went on the play Elgar's "Pomp and Circumstance" on a bicycle pump, a ventriloquist and a singing group.

Caught the last bus home [5:50 pm].

The Hebble Trail passes Grade II Shaw Lodge Mills which is my blip. The complex comprises of former worsted mills and warehouses. Mill No 1 was the first building on the site and dates from 1830. More here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.