Wild

I needed to get to the bus station this morning, a bit over a 20-minute walk. Easy but I had my backpack to take. Not very heavy but...

The very convenient bus I caught when I arrived seemed to have been defeated by the one way system and didn't even feature in Googlemap's results. Their suggested route involved a 10 minute walk in the wrong direction to the metro, a train for one stop, a change to another train for one stop, then a 7 minute walk. So my bag and I walked. 

Highlights from five hours in a bus: large field-sections in shades of yellow and green, a field full of singing sunflowers, a stop for excellent (or perhaps just much-needed) coffee, a long stretch of motorway lined with azalea bushes bursting with white or deep pink flowers.

Then Cordoba. This is the place that has motivated my trip and I arrived about as incompetently as was possible. As the bus pulled in to the most beautiful bus station ever (circular with a garden in the middle full of palms, orange trees, bougainvillea and wisteria) I realised my phone was almost out of charge. No problem - I have a back up charger. Ahem. That had lost its charge too. Before everything died I made a note of where I was staying and my host's phone number, then set off the old-fashioned way - with a dreadful paper map scavenged at the station and a tongue in my head. I started in the wrong direction, by shamefully forgetting to use the sun to set my compass. Then I practised my lapsed Spanish on locals. A few seemed to know as little about the area as I did but were nonetheless quite happy to send me the wrong way. But after a lot of unnecessary walking I eventually got to the right number in the right street and when no-one answered the bell a lovely couple phoned for me and sorted out the end-game. Bless them, after a man who refused. Lord knows what he thought I was up to in asking for help.

It was 15C warmer than this morning when I left Madrid so I used a 'siesta' to to charge everything and to sew the strap back onto the bag I have been overloading every day since I bought it six years ago.

In the slightly cooler evening I walked into town. It felt at first as if Cordoba has a very thick skin, unsurprisingly with so many people like me clogging its streets, but as I followed my whim at each corner, it soon relented, and I found myself at one of the stages of Rio Mundi - Cordoba's International Festival of Rivers. It was only later that I learnt that I could have gone in search of the Amazon, the Niger or the Guadalquivir or any other of nine rivers, but as I'd stumbled on the Thames I was condemned to a Pink Floyd tribute band. Ah well, I danced anyway, the children were enjoying themselves and at least I had the Roman bridge over the river on one side, beautiful buildings on the other (extra) and bats overhead.

Epic failure to understand tiles in extras, especially for Tivoli. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.