Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Reasons to be cheerful

This is my new umbrella that I got today. I chose yellow to match my shoelaces. Also because it might make it harder to lose; I’m as good as the next person when it comes to mislaying umbrellas. And because I am at heart an optimist.

It was a very wet day. "Flooding and transport disruption likely from heavy rain in southeast England during Monday afternoon and evening" according to the amber weather warning from the meteorological office. TSM and I were both at home, me doing domestics and her working (even ‘though it was her day off).

We also met two more plumbers. The bathroom project is swinging wildly between estimates of £4K and £12k  depending on the preferred option. No disrespect but you never know what or who to believe. As George Bernard Shaw said "All professions are conspiracies against the laity" and although he was talking about Doctors and lawyers it could just as easily be true of plumbers and roofers. It is, as they say in my home town of Sarf Lundun, doin’ me ‘ead in. I am already becoming an expert in soil pipe diameters and pump specifications.

Brief trip to the dump then into the local shops. It is nice to be together for the day even when it is uneventful.

Finished "10 minutes and 38 seconds in this strange world" by Elif Shafak today. Very good.  From the harrowing to the optimistic and full of quotable lines. It is the story of a murdered prostitute in Istanbul - that is no spoiler as you learn it on page one - and her circle of colourful and loyal friends. Really recommended. Also had my hand built reading lamp delivered. This is a serious bit of kit, but then I am (post Hay) a serious reader ... There’s a back story to these two linked items - if you want to check it out go to

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2581227054695452573

Excellent day health wise today. Amazingly good. I switched to a new strain of probiotics a couple of days ago but I can’t believe they’ve worked that well that quickly. Whatever the reason I feel like a new man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.