ABT

By ABT

Yachts

We took a cycle up to the beach at Scheveningen today since we have the day off work - national holiday for Pentecost.  There were lots of yachts out there today, not sure what event was taking place, there has not been anything really advertised.  Anyway, we stopped off for some lunch then had a walk along the boulevard where there were some stalls selling trinkets, clothes and gift-type things.  There is a tall-ships event coming in a couple of week's time which should be quite a spectacle.  We'll get along for that and hopefully get some good photos.  Next weekend is the 'New Herring' festival at the harbour so we'll go to that too.  I love all these local events - it gives me a great insight into the old and new cultures of the country.  Anyway, in contrast to the beautiful blue sky when I took this photo in the early afternoon, the heavens opened on our cycle home - I could barely see through my glasses for the rain!!  We made it home just in time before more thunder and lightning (which I'm terrified of).  We had a real night of thunder and lightning during the week and I thought we'd seen the back of it but it has been close and stuffy all weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.