Tits in the rain

There is an abundance of juvenile tits, and other birds this spring. We've been feeding them for some weeks and it is getting expensive, but I don't feel I can stop providing the food given such horrendous weather conditions where the availability of other food is limited.

I counted nearly twenty tits this morning hovering around the feeders, as well as bullfinches, robins, nuthatches, goldfinches, a siskin and a long-tailed tit or two. A jay flew over the garden yesterday after stopping at the end of the garden for a few minutes.

I liked the way these juveniles are seeing the world for the first time and learning fast. They aren't too afraid of me either which I like as I sit here poking a lens out through the open door onto the patio. As I write several other juvenile tits, which are younger and unable to feed for themselves are twittering away asking for food and flapping their wings crazily whilst going nowhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.