Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

What a difference a year makes

What a difference a year makes
It is now almost a year since I got a phone call from my local health centre to make an appointment with my doctor. I had just attended the hypertension clinic and thought all was OK as my blood and urine samples had come back normal and my blood pressure was stable with the medications I was on. The doctor however was concerned as my weight had increased by about a stone in a year.

I have struggled with my weight for 40 years and often tried to diet loosing a stone but gaining it and more . My job did not help with up to 50% of my time being spent away from home and staying in hotels with celebration meals, overeating and drinking the norm. I told the doctor that I had lost a few pounds since my hypertension clinic appointment but she said it was more than a pound or two that was required: she said a complete lifestyle change was required. She asked me if I would consent to her referring me to the Peak on the GP referral scheme. I agreed,

That day with the GP was the start of my weight loss journey. I changed my diet, avoiding easy carbohydrates ( bread, pasta, rice and all pastries, biscuits and sweets ); had a big breakfast with lots of protein and few carbs ( 2 eggs, bacon, tomato and latte (unsweetened)); little for lunch (protein bar, lentil or pea snack crisps); dinner with at least 750 g of vegetables).

Nothing was heard from the Peak and I thought that the doctors referral had not been successful, but I was given an appointment on 17th July and was accepted on the GP referral programme. Since the 19th July 2018 I have attended the gym at least 5 days a week and do 4 classes a week ( 2 senior spin and 2 Fit4Life), At first, I thought it was going to kill me ( especially the Spin classes but thanks to Freddie for recommending these classes to me – you’ll be sorely missed Freddie). I have to thank the Peak GP referral team (Katey-Jane, Freddie, Stuart and Dawne) class instructors (Shams and Claire). Classmates, Gym staff and Peak staff for the help, support and encouragement they have given me.

Today I gained my FitBit 85lb lost badge; I would not have been able to achieve this without my GP and her encouragement to change my lifestyle; the Peak GP referral Scheme and its staff , Peak class instructors, Peak gym staff, Peak staff ( especially the desk staff and cheery cleaners) classmate, the 2 Craigs in the Cafe and friends & family.

My only criticism of the GP referral scheme is it’s duration. 12 weeks is not long enough to develop a habit and at the end of it you feel isolated and miss the monitoring that was part of the scheme: you feel completely alone with no follow up and nothing there to ensure that you continue to progress.
I signed up for all in membership after I completed the GP referral scheme but this in itself does not include the monitoring that I believe was essential for the progress towards achieving my weight loss and fitness goals. I definitely felt isolated and alone at the end of the programme. I have found a couple of personal training sessions with Stuart helpful but feel there should be some formal follow up and monitoring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.