MikeWest

By MikeWest

Aeons

Walking down the opposite end of the beach today I only saw two people fishing off the sand bar. There are few rocks on this side and I toyed with cliff views and wild flowers, but in the end stuck with this outcrop. I was drawn to the strata evident in its formation, depicting the passage of millions of years, which added to the sense of insignificance standing and looking out at the endless sea.

There are two more islands off the coast pointed to by the direction of the rocks, but the effect of the wide angle lens renders them almost too small to see.

I struggled a bit with the negative space in this image, particularly on the right, but the lines in the sand created by the ebbing tide help, as do the stones in the bottom left. I think possibly I made the shadow too light for the strong sunlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.