exiled

By grasshopper6

Quiz Night

That day of the week again... K and M have managed to secure a table and are guarding my chair with ferocious zeal.  The pub is heaving again.  

Crooner Louis and Haroon the bear are at the bar, giggling like school boys.  They greet me with their usual enthusiasm, planting sloppy kisses on my cheeks, giving me bear hugs and offering to buy my usual bottle of wine (which is handy as I have forgotten my purse!)

After a long absence, Slim Shady and the Locum Pussies are back.  They are ones of our archest arch-enemies. although they also greet me with kisses and hugs. 

We need to win badly.  R has forgotten his purse too, K has run out of money and M (he is really a tight bastard!) only brought a tenner to the pub.  

The first round is pot luck and we are fairly lucky. We ace the 50s music round and I single-handedly answer all the difficult questions in the science round.  We become undone on the film round when D (the quiz master) comes to our rescue.  He cryptically says "Think cheese!!!" and just like that we come up with the answer Brie Olsen...

We are join first place and lose on the tie break to The Squirrels, which is only fair, as we would have been 1 point behind without the quizmaster's help...

At least we beat Slim Shady... 

The night ends with some drinks courtesy of The Old Farts and my usual wobbly bicycle ride.

Thank you all soooo much for the supportive comments, the love and the stars for my  Surreal Meeting entry. It felt so good to write  and I couldn't wish for a more uplifting response.  Blip is a wonderful place.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.