exiled

By grasshopper6

Music

When I was very young I suddenly stopped speaking.  I would only communicate through song.  My mum took me to see a psychologist who diagnosed me with "having autistic traits" and recommended music lessons.  And just like that, I suddenly discovered a way of connecting to the world. My piano was the tool I used to articulate feelings I did not know how to express or even understand.  

To this day, music remains a constant in my life with the power to conjure up powerful feelings. Music can transform my mood and transport me to a different world.  I can close my eyes and dissolve in a universe of distinct notes that engulfs me, making me oblivious of the world around me, like I've left my body and my mind has become part of the piece of music I am listening to.

Sometimes, there are sounds in nature that can do the same.  Like here, at Chesil beach, when the waves retreat over the pebbles making them vibrate in unison.  It's like the sea issues a huge sigh of relief at having, at last, reached the welcoming shores.  

Try closing your eyes and listen to this, and see where it takes you

suit no 1 for unaccompanied cello (prelude)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.