POG's Journal

By POG

Brompton on a diet…

Hello Blippers,


Spurred on by a comment from john39 asking if I had made any progress with my old Brompton I thought I would make a start…


There are a few of goals with this little project.


1)      Reduce the weight of the overall bike. This is relatively simple when you replace everything with Titanium and Carbon… So, let’s think of this as a prototyping project to see what could be possible before I splash the cash. Maybe a hacksaw here and there first.
2)      Better riding position for a vertically challenged person like me, it is hard to get any sort of riding position. I know this is not what they are all about but as this is for me, I just don’t care.
3)      Something that to the trained eye will be obviously the product of a racing cyclist.
 
As with any diet you need a starting weight… so here we go…

1 stone, 9 pounds (10.4326 kilos). This is a bit of a false first reading as half of one pedal is missing, there are no brake blocks or chain. Now you’re starting to see why it was cheap.


I’ll take another photo soon of it unfolded so we have a record of what it looks like before I start work.


Thanks to John39  for prodding me into action.
 
More tomorrow.


POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.