Mr Grumpy?

Not me after all the love I received from you lot yesterday, I wish I could thank each and everyone of you but I'm struggling to find time whilst on holiday. I promise to catch up on your journals too when I get back.

This picture really doesn't represent the day we have had really as it's been none stop sight seeing. First we drove early to Pompeii to visit the archaeological sight that is world famous. It was really too hot for Claire to be out in the direct sun all day so we decided on the most important things to go and see. 
We spent about three and a half hours visiting the amphitheatre, garden of the fugitives and the main street through the old city.

See extra of some of the bodies immortalised in ash which were discovered in 1961 ---->

After a long morning at Pompeii we decided to head on up Mt. Vesuvius. We drove up the mountain road which is fantastic with loads of switchbacks, the height you gain so quickly is impressive. We got to the end, then got in one of the Taxis that takes you further up where cars aren't allowed. I then paid the entrance fee to the national park then climbed on up to the caldera rim whilst Claire stayed in the shade of a bar near the entrance. It was a tough climb on gravel in 35 degrees and I'm glad Claire made the decision weeks ago she wouldn't be attempting it.

The volcano so big it's really hard to photograph but to be honest I was more interested in taking all the panoramas in from the top. A stitched 6 image of the caldera can be seen in extras ---->

Finally when we returned to Sorrento late on the evening we stumbled upon another wedding (think this is a sign), this is what the main image is, I imagine the Groom is a military man.

Happy couple in extra ------->

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.