But I Won't Do That

Teetering on the edge of the rocks late this afternoon, doing a bit of wing flapping, a few wobbles then a bit more wing flapping, my three peregrine chicks have made great strides since I last saw them on May 14th. 

All very well fed, they have nearly lost their downy white feathers and are testing those wings ready to go. Two chicks are still in the nest but this one, the very verbal one, had got herself up the rocks and out onto a crag. Still not too sure about the whole flying thing yet though!

I took my tripod up there this time but goodness the small path was running with water like a stream after the torrential rain we've had over the last days. On trying to carry the gear which included the big lens and negotiate  the water tumbling down which was lethal, I missed my way half way up and climbed and climbed the wrong path. Yes - to say I was pretty cross with myself was an understatement having doubled the journey and then I had to skid my way down to find the right route. Getting dark up there and no-one around made it even more dodgy, however all was well but this little monkey had gone as far away from my lens as it was possible to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.