The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hidden Stroud. XI, The cemetery chapel

After a day of bimbling around and trying to sort out the online order that I placed in triplicate late last night, (following an "internal server error" when trying to complete the sale), I was delighted to hear from a friend who wondered if I was free. She arrived half an hour later with her dog, Stella, and we set off for a quick walk around the cemetery, just as dusk was falling.

When we got to the burial chapel, I realised that it was the same building that I'd been writing about in my Christmas day blip, and whose spire you can see. The chapel is no longer in use for religious services, but here you can see the arch through which the hearse would enter, before proceeding to either the Church of England chapel on one side of the arch, or the 'NonConformist' chapel on the other side! I told this story to my friend, and remarked that there were separate burial areas, too, within the Old Cemetery.

"Divided in death, even as in life" , said I.

My friend commented that for her, it was a model of inclusivity that paupers, Church of England and NonConformist people should be allowed to be buried in the same cemetery!

After our walk. we came home and enjoyed tea and Christmas cake, while Stella the dog and our Bomble consented to a Christmas truce. Time was when Bomble would attempt to scratch the face off Stella...Perhaps the Feliway diffuser is working!

My friend's son is making a geodesic dome for a maths project, so I got out an colourful model making kit that I got for Christmas several years ago, and attempted to make one in twenty minutes! I was still cursing away over an hour later. but eventually after looking at the online instructions, I finished the dome.

Now, back to the jigsaw...

Links to more of the Hidden Stroud series

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.