Crafty Christmas Tree

Kirstie Allsopp has nothing on my girls when it comes to home-made decorations!!
I had a great morning with Miss E this morning. We went to see Tinkerbell And The Secret of The Wings with Mrs Z and Miss A.
I took in a tuppaware container full of Thorntons and Maltesers and Mrs Z bought the coffee. Lovely!
I also took KateC's advice about putting the phone on it's lowest brightness setting so I could do a spot of internet browsing. Genius!
This was Miss E's second visit to the cinema. The first was less than successful when she got scared and asked to leave. The pirate film was a bit scary but I thought we'd be OK with Tinkerbell.
Nope!
After about twenty minutes, with not a sign of peril - mild or otherwise - she piped up that she was scared and wanted to go.
As it was not even vaguely scary I had the feeling that she was just assuming it was going to get scary and was pre-empting it.
Annoying!!
I took her outside, told her all the fairies were good; it was all going to be alright in the end, just like
SPOILER ALERT!!!!!
Tangled and Bolt and Finding Nemo and every other bloody children's film ever made!
With the possible exceptions of Bambi and Dumbo. I don't know how they end because I had to be carried sobbing from the cinema shortly after they started. And have never tried again!!
Anyway, she agreed to come back in and sat on my knee for the rest of the film. Lots of hugging, back rubbing and reassuring murmerings and she made it through to the end. And she loved it.
I'm proud of her for getting past it and managing to stay, but at the same time it is a bit irritating that she thinks she's going to get scared so works herself up over nothing....
At least next time I can remind her that she loved Tinkerbell in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.