Wild strawberries

Strawberries that in gardens grow
   Are plump and juicy fine,
But sweeter far as wise men know
   Spring from the woodland vine.

No need for bowl or silver spoon,
   Sugar or spice or cream,
Has the wild berry plucked in June
   Beside the trickling stream.

One such to melt at the tongue's root,
   Confounding taste with scent,
Beats a full peck of garden fruit:
   Which points my argument....
From Robert Graves' poem Wild Strawberries


I managed a decent size walk today and went up to the stone circle and over the mountain at a very gentle pace. Its bogland up here but I was amazed at the variety of plants thriving amongst the grasses including lots of tiny and dangerous sundews. The bog asphodels were still out and there was a smattering of pale pink orchids and ragged robins. Even the stile was decorated with foxgloves (see collage). But coming out onto the lane it was the wild strawberries that I loved, tiny but plump and juicy.


Medication update - you were interested weren't you?? Having not got on with they lyrica the doc then tried me on something else - the lowest possible dosage of something primarily used to treat bipolar and ADHD! Three days of that and not happy. So now all meds are gone and I have an analgesic plaster type thing which I apply (or Himself applies) to the strategic spot for 12 hours ie at night. Already this feels much more comfortable so fingers crossed.


And I was ridiculously pleased to get a mention on an RTE programme we watched last night: Divorcing God. Some time ago I was approached by a researcher for this programme who wanted to know about holy wells and could I recommend one that might fit in with the programme. Yes I could and  they actually used the holy well I suggested and very good it look. And I was mentioned in the credits. Nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.