Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Grand

The train back from Cornwall to Bristol was the first leg of my journey home. After checking in to my hotel in Bristol I decided to go for a walk, however within five minutes I got caught in a torrential downpour. It was, I suppose, rather appropriate given how the weather has been during the past week.

My destination was the M Shed, which houses a most impressive museum of Bristol's history and people. I liked the way the museum focused on the people who made, and continue to make, the city. This is not just a collection of artefacts but one which complements stories about people, places and events. And there is a display case (pictured) about the Bristol-based Aardman Animations, responsible for, among other things, Wallace and Grommit. Excellent coffee and cake in the cafe too, by the way!

Next up was a walk from there up to Stokes Croft to see the murals and street art. Fair to say that Stokes Croft is not the prettiest part of town, but some of the artwork is definitely worth seeing. Posted one such example as an extra. Back to the city centre for a bite to eat and that just about concludes my adventures in the south-west. It's been fun, apart from the weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.