Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

New Room

I had a bit of free time this morning before catching my train(s) home, so took a wander into Bristol city centre where I popped into the New Room museum, associated with the 18th century Methodist preacher John Wesley.

The ground floor contains the lovingly-restored chapel, the first (and therefore the oldest) Methodist chapel in the world, as well as a bright and airy modern cafe. Upstairs, the excellent museum (pictured above) has a number of rooms featuring aspects of the life and times of John Wesley and his brother, the hymn-writer Charles. All very interesting stuff.

A detour on my way back to visit the charming Queen Square and then it was time to catch the train back to Glasgow.

At some point soon, I'll catch up with everyone's blips and resume my usual routine. Meanwhile, it's goodnight from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.