Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Wild Orchid

I thought I'd ease myself into a week off by heading over to Thursley Common, designated a National Nature Reserve and only a short drive from where I live. 

The reserve is renown for its diverse habitats and wildlife, including marshes (which you can walk across via wooden boardwalks) that support up to 20 of the dragonfly and damselfly species in the UK.  Unfortunately today was not a day for seeing many, but I did manage to capture one at rest (extra), possibly one of the Darters.

Rather easier to capture were the splashes of pink popping up out of the verdent marsh vegetation.  Closer inspection (with a long lens - I wasn't going to get my feet wet if I could help it!) revealed these to be wild orchids, or Early Marsh Orchid.  Entry for BikerBear's Flower Friday Challenge achieved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.