Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

City Poppies

I headed off down the M3 to Southampton to have a look around Westquay, a fairly new shopping and leisure centre development near the ferry ports.

Not really being interested in the shops (though I did buy a book on creating Blac and White photos - so be warned!), I headed off into the Old Town and walks along the medieval town walls.  The local authority have placed information boards at strategic points, so this became an interesting history lesson on Southampton as well.

In the middle of the Old Town I found an open area surrounding the ruins of an old medieval wine cellar, Quilter's Vault, complete with clumps of poppies, I had to stick the camera through iron railings to take the shots (thank goodness for articulated back screens!) and wait for the breeze to drop, but quite please wth my first wild poppy shots of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.