Final Resting Place

Dear Diary,

I do like to wander around in old cemeteries.  This one isn't far from me but I haven't explored it.  I stopped because of the dozen or so really old stones in one corner near the street, the oldest, 1810.  There was also this stone.  It was erected in 2014 and it told a sorry tale.  In that year, workers were excavating near the old town hall and discovered 10 bodies, one of which was a child.  Apparently, back in the 1920's, when they were building the hall, there was a small graveyard of 13 stones there.  The stones were relocated to this cemetery but they never moved the bodies.  Three bodies are missing altogether.  They couldn't tell who belonged to which stone so they were all buried together, I hope this is indeed their final resting place.  I'll need to explore some more here. I found myself feeling a bit angry with the laziness of those workers who didn’t take the time to properly re-bury these people and what happened to the 3 missing ones?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.