Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Azul

This is the boldest of the Three Amigos, the trio of young Blue Jays that have made our garden their home this summer.  I've decided to call him/her Azul (Spanish for Blue).  This morning I was having my tea on the deck when he landed on the railing and gave me the "where are the peanuts" look.  Like any well-trained human, I dashed inside and returned with a handful of peanuts.  With a little encouragement and a lot of patience, Azul will take peanuts from my hand now - the first time I've ever hand-fed a blue jay.  When they aren't cadging peanuts, they are gobbling seeds and getting into mischief around the garden.  Two of them even got bold enough to take a quick peck at Xena's tail (the chipmunk) - she was NOT amused.  I, however, was mightily amused.

Other than planting a few things and going grocery shopping, I am afraid I didn't get much else accomplished today.  I was having way too much fun watching all the action in the garden.  

Hubs spent part of last night at the hospital as MIL had a fall at around 11 last night.  To be safe, they sent her to hospital for scans and to make sure she didn't have a concussion. Everything checked out okay, but it made for a very short night for Hubs. This is her second fall in a week, so we will be working closely with the staff at the nursing home to try to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Tomorrow Hubs is off to Pocono Raceway to test the new race car on the track. It should be an exciting (and noisy) day and hopefully they won't bang the car up.  This car is one of a kind in that it is a Miata body with a beefy Ford Mustang engine in it.  It's taken them nearly two years to build it, so anticipation is running high.  Stay tuned.

Meanwhile, Papa House Wren is splitting his time between his two nest boxes...with a lot of singing breaks.  This is a species that usually produces two broods a year in our area, so he has to keep singing to protect his territory.  If you recall, the original male House Wren who set up here was chased off by this one (who also threw all his eggs out of the nest box!).  

And Mister Bluebird rained terror on a squirrel who made the colossol mistake of venturing onto the bluebird's perch, which is about 12 feet from their nest box.  At one point, Mister came away with a clump of squirrel fur.  Very funny.

And speaking of squirrels (yea, I know you wish I'd stop talking, already), there is one extremely pregnant female hanging around.  I mean, she's huge.  Take a look HERE

Okay that's a wrap for today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.