Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Macro Flossie

I decided for a bit of a lazy choice today, but only after I'd chased around the yard trying to photograph bees while the wind was knocking the plants every which way.  Never try to photograph insects on a windy day - it causes a severe case of potty-mouth.

Fortunately, Flossie popped her head out of her burrow (which is right next to a small retaining wall around the side garden) reminding me that I hadn't blipped her for a while.  Since I had the macro lens, I decided to sit down close to her burrow so that we could be at eye level.  She agreed with me, after doing the chippie-Buddha thing for a while (they can sit absolutely motionless for what feels like an eternity, assessing the threat level of...whatever.)  When she finally came fully out, I thought I she showed some girth that might suggest she's in the womanly-way.  I'll put a shot in Extra - see what you think.

Very soon, you are going to be seeing photos of baby Downy Woodpeckers.  I knew I'd heard at least one up in the trees yesterday and today I saw a young male, just briefly.  The youngsters are so big and fluffy when they fledge - looking noticeably bigger than their poor, beleaguered parents.  You'll see what I mean - stay tuned.

Hopefully tomorrow won't be quite so windy - honestly, I thought we were going to lose some tree limbs today!  But at least it's sunny and warm.  

Happy Friday...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.