Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird #13 - Version 2

I blipped an American Goldfinch back 27 January when they were in their rather drab winter wardrobe.  Today seemed like a good day to show you what they look like after their spring molt, wearing their finest dating outfits.  This male was singing which just added to the experience since they have a lovely warbling song.  If you are curious, you can hear their songs HERE.

I had a rather perfect day which started with some time in the garden listening to the peeps of baby House Wrens coming from their two nest boxes, the trilling pics of multiple Downy Woodpecker youngsters, and if I'm not mistaken, a young cardinal somewhere up in the trees.  I potted a couple of recent bargain plants from the store then decided to head out to the nearby park and hit some of my favorite summer trails.

Dragons galore and a nice showing of butterflies, too, making for a really nice outing.  I was sorely tempted to blip one of the dragons, but decided I really liked this photo best today.  When I look back on it, I'll remember his fine song, the breeze blowing through the leaves on the trees, and the background chorus of baby birds.  

If you'd like to see my second choice, click HERE to see a macro shot of a female Widow Skimmer (dragonfly) with decent compound eyes.

Hubs is grilling steaks and veggies for dinner tonight.  I made a rub for the steaks of dried porcini mushrooms (ground to powder in my spice mill), garlic, spices and sugar.  Should be yummy.  We'll be dining on the deck, of course - our usual summer routine.  

cheers
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.