Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird #13 Version 1 - American Goldfinch

About a week ago, a group of 10 goldfinches showed up at the feeders but didn't stay long enough for me to get photos.  These tiny birds are nomadic during the winter months meaning that they travel around in search of food.  Consequently, they can be seen in almost any month during winter, just depending on where their travels take them.  Anyway, while I was outside this morning,  heard the distinctive whiny call of the goldfinch ...and moments later two flew in to have some seeds.  

Sometime later in the year, I will blip Version 2 of the American Goldfinch when it is in full breeding plumage and will look like a completely different bird.  This is the only species of year-around bird in our area that has a complete molt twice a year and sports totally different wardrobes depending on the season.  They are comparatively drab this time of year but just wait...

SIL and Hubs have both been gone all morning so it's been quiet around the house.  No complaints from me as I rather like the quiet.  The temperatures today and tomorrow will be in the high 40's so I am going to go put some seeds in my pollinator garden that need a cold stratification period.  Perfect time to do it as the top inch of soil should be thawed enough for me to push the seeds in.  On my list of plantings - Mountain Mint, milkweed, columbine and jewelweed.  The latter is difficult to start so this will be a big experiement.  

Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy the weekend!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.