Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Day for Dads

Today is Father's Day so it is only fitting that 1) I talked to my own Dad first thing this morning, and 2) that I blip a dad.  This is one of my nest boxes, currently housing 7 very hungry little House Wrens.  Here you see Dad (I'm pretty sure it's Dad because after feeding, he sang a little song) feeding one of the gaping, hungry little mouths.  At one point, there were three little heads sticking out of the entry hole - rather cute.  I think they will fledge in the next day or so, based on the behavior of the parents and the fact that the kids are visible at the box entrance.  We'll see.

My own Dad was planning to enjoy a sunny day in Portland with Mom, doing some walking and some geo-caching and wrapping up the day with veggies and ribs on the grill.  Sounds pretty darn good to me.  Mom promised to give him an extra hug from me.

We are experiencing the first heat wave of the season today with our high temp expected to be about 88 F.  Tomorrow we will push into the low-mid 90's with increased humidity.  I'm supposed to meet up with my nature group for a walk in the morning, but will play it by ear.  The heat has wreaked havoc with my sinuses and I'm feeling rather crappy at the moment, but hopefully I'll feel better in the morning.  

MIL is here now for our traditional Sunday dinner.  We're making pasta with fresh, uncooked tomatoes, herbs and goat cheese for dinner which seems just the thing on a hot day.

To all the father's out there, Happy Father's Day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.