Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wild Baby Week - Chipmunk

It was a very good day in the garden in terms of baby opportunities.  Loads of baby downy woodpeckers, plus nuthatches, cardinals, finches and one cowbird.  I know that the titmice broods are fledging now because I can hear them up in the trees begging loudly to be fed.  They'll be around when their parents have taught them a few more survival tricks.  And when they come around, I'll be ready.

Meanwhile, there are so many chipmunks roaring around the patio and garden that I actually feared stepping on one by accident.  The adults are serious about waging war against each other but the juveniles, like this one, are mostly interested in exploring and eating.  Their mothers will be kicking them out of the dens soon (if they haven't already) to make way for the second litter of the year, so they are pretty much on their own now.  They are still slightly smaller than the adults and if you look closely you can see that definite "baby shape" to them - just a bit cuter, softer, rounder.  (Linda, I know you're daddy would be smiling).  

Rain showers for most of the day kept me close to home, which was fine since there's so much action outside right now.  Hubs and I took a break and went out for lunch which was nice.  

Two more shots from today, both babies...
Young male downy woodpecker with a punk 'do
and
fledgling brown-headed cowbird

Tomorrow is Father's Day and I plan to start it by talking to my dad.  Then, I'm hoping to get a very special blip ...

Cheers!
Debbi


PS:  Don't forget to join along in Wild Baby Week if you're up to it.  Any wild baby creatures will do and tag your entries WBW followed by the date (just the day, such as 17 for today)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.