Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wild Baby Week - Woodpeckers

First of all, Happy Father's Day to my Dad, and to all the other Dads out there!  I started my day out with a phone call with my dad  and mom - no better way to start the day.

It ended up being a very hot, muggy day and by noon the birds were slowing down.  I made sure all the bird baths had fresh, cool water  and plenty of food.  I took this shot earlier in the morning when the downy woodpeckers were bringing their kids down to the suet feeder.  I had hoped to get a male feeding one of the youngsters, but settled for this worn-out mama (top) feeding a plumb, fresh daughter.  Then, because someone suggested recently that I should try these birds in mono, I ran the photo through Silver Efex Pro.  I kind of like it, even though I'm a full-color gal at heart.  

I did mange a couple of other baby shots today and you can see them on Flickr if you'd care to...
A "baby" gypsy moth (in caterpillar form)
and
Another shot of a devoted mother woodpecker

MIL is over for a relaxing afternoon and dinner.  Hubs is going to cedar-plank some salmon and grill some fresh asparagus - yum.  

If the weather cooperates, I will be meeting up with my naturalist group tomorrow, fingers crossed.  

And in bluebird news, there are now 3 perfect blue eggs in the nest box in front of the house.  I doubt she'll lay more than 4, but will check again in two days.  I am also going to sprinkle some chlorox on the walkway near the box so that I don't leave a scent-trail.  I would like to avoid the disaster that happened in that box to the seven little wren chicks.  I'm happy to report that the wren pair who lost their babies have six eggs in the new nest, and Mama has started incubating.  Expect babies in approximately 2 weeks.

Please feel free to join me in this week-long challenge to blip wild baby creatures (birds, animals, insects, reptiles).  Tag your entries with WBW followed by the date.  And check out Osuzanna's entry from yesterday - it's a WOW shot for sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.