Daisy Standing in the Middle of the Road

It is my husband's birthday weekend, and we are trying to do some fun things, in spite of everything else that's going on. My husband wanted to go jogging, and out to lunch, and swimming. And so that is just what we did.

Lunch was a fine meal of chef salads and crispy cottage fries at Jim's in Bellefonte. We just happened to be there in time for the car show that is part of the Bellefonte Cruise, so we strolled around and saw some snazzy cars too.

The afternoon swim at Bald Eagle was my least favorite one of summer so far. It became very breezy and the lake was choppy. Every time I turned my head, I caught waves in the face, and got water in my ears and nose. It was a bit too much like drowning for me, and I didn't last long before giving up.

But before all of that, we spent a morning hour in the local gamelands, not far from the shooting range, which was closed for the day for some private event; a thing I'm not sure I've ever seen before. I spotted a viceroy butterfly, a perfect specimen; the first one I've photographed in several years. You may see that butterfly in the extras.

The story of the day, though, was the daisies, which were everywhere. They are in perfect condition, and I photographed them every way I could think of: from above, from below, along the road side, and then this one: a daisy standing right in the middle of the (closed) road!

Here is a song for this daisy: the Pretenders, with Middle of the Road. There is another song I like to go with it as well, as I sense this is a daisy with some true moxie!  Here's Sugarland, with Stand Up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.