flavia13

By flavia13

SANDSIDE

Went to Mum's today, partly due to it being Father's Day and we always miss him a lot around that time.  It was 11 years ago on 4th June Dad left us but his funeral was on the day after Father's Day so you never forget.

We popped over the Dunelm for Jacket Potato and a browse.  Then back home looking at old photos, some of which I've brought home to scan and keep a computer record for prosperity.

I also got the new that my good friend Tim, who lives in Sussex was in hospital after a Road Traffic Accident.  He lives in Lewes, Sussex and was out and about and somebody went into him, don't know how yet but his little Smart car is a write off and he as a fractured sternum with bleeding behind it.  We have now discovered that the bleeding has stopped and his heart is good.  So I guess it's just going to take time for him to heal.  I looked at going to see him but, it would take a minimum of 6 hours driving which would be too far in one go.  Tim is a great friend of mine whom I met at a Dr Who convention 20 years ago and we've been good friends since.  It would mean travelling with our friend G and he can't drive, so really that is out. The train fare would be astronomical and would mean going via London, the thought of which gets me in a bit of a tizz!!!  So I'm afraid I can't do it.  Hopefully he will be better by next April when our special Dr Who group will meet up for our anniversary in Oxford and I can manage that and he can get train there.  So fingers crossed.

On the way home I veered off to Sandside for me to take a few blips.  This is the one I like best I think.

Whilst sitting here processing my photos I noticed aciivity on The Bay, The Rescue vehicle was there with a few people.  I grabbed the camera, put the zoom on and took a few shots.  They're not great because even the had to zoom in further and I never had time to set up the tripod, so it's not sharp, but does record they were there.  I've added it as an extra.

The first extra is one of the few photos I have of myself with my Dad, taken at The Royal Oak in Barrington, Somerset on Christmas Eve 1999.  I have got quite a few photos of my Dad but very few of the two of us, which I had never realised and will now always be a huge regret.

Hope you have all had good days.  Happy Father's Day to all who are fathers, for those that are celebrating with their father and, for those like me, who miss them dearly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.