It Started Down Under

By dirk

The Yarra Trail

Today's theme was the notorious Yarra Trail. I woke up by the sound of the flemish father of Lisa entering the house with his second wife. I jumped into some of the few clothes left and took my laundry off the line where i put it yesterday.
I was also confronted with my bright green, pink and yellow helmet! I'm lucky nobody knows me around here. So around 2.00pm I mounted the bike and found out it had a flat tire. No air.. we took it to the nearest service station to pump the tires up again.
2.30pm I could get on my way. Luckily there is a bike track close so I got on there. First I had to buy a new MET-card (for bus and tram), but the vending-machine at the nearest station didn't accept either of my cards.. So I first had to go look for a store. I followed the bike track towards the city. It sort of ended at a big road which I took all the way up to Doncaster Rd where I finally found a store. Then I got back in search for the Yarra Trail (bike track). All the way back to my starting point and even further. On the way taking some pictures. At a certain point I asked a cyclist on a bench whether he knew where the Yarra Trail was. He would take me there (but he was originally from Sweden).

He took me all the way back to the other end of that same track again and from there we went further towards the city. Hills up, hills down, more hills up and he was riding a bike with a battery linked to it! I had a hard time keeping up, but finally we got to the Yarra Trail!

At this viewpoint (where the photo is taken) Chris (the Swedish guy) got a flat tire. So that gave me some time to drink from my frozen water. Then we decided to go all the way back again! It took me 4 hours in total to do all this cycling today. My legs couldn't go any further at a certain point. (that point was actually before this viewpoint)

Back home I had the shortest but most refreshing shower of my life before I could have dinner and start ironing my clothes! And now here I am, I ended up blipping all my experiences not being able to stretch my legs without hurting myself.

A tough, but rewarding day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.