Pimp My Irish Banger

This little pile dropped in the letterbox this morning, and intrigued me.

The National College of Art and Design is opening a new gallery. The address is the same as the college itself, but I've no idea where in the grounds the gallery is located, or whether it's a new build (doubtful) or just one of the spaces that's used for the annual Graduates Show. There's an interesting programme of events for the 'inaugural season' -- only three exhibitions between now and July, but also a seminar, a 'performance/lecture, and a display and discussion about 'cultural archaeology' in Dublin.

Unfortunately, I'll have to miss what promises to be the most interesting offering on the list. Pimp My Irish Banger is billed as follows:

CUSTOMISED CAR DOORS AND BONNETS
A collaborative Visual Arts Project between Common Ground, St Michael's Youth Project and artist Terry Blake working with Dean Farrell, Jonathan O'Reilly, Glen Keogh and Ian O'Brien and Youth Workers Eric Caffrey and Carol Byrne


It sounds intriguing. Very. I presume the 'canvas' involved is parts of abandoned cars. It's a shame I'll miss the opening, since it's on while we're away in Lisbon, but I'll try to catch the show during its run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.