Gaia

So today is my last day of freedom before I start my new job!  Tomorrow a whole new world opens up to me and what better place to go than the Gaia exhibition at Liverpool Cathedral.  I hadn't realised it was ending at the weekend so it was today or never!

Gaia is a touring artwork by UK artist Luke Jerram.

The artwork measures 7 metres in diameter and is 1.8 million times smaller than the real Earth with each centimetre describing 18 km of its surface.  

In Greek mythology, Gaia is the personification of the Earth, the ancestral mother of all life and the primal Mother Earth goddess.

Quote for today:
I hope visitors to Gaia get to see the Earth as if from space; an incredibly beautiful and precious place.  An ecosystem we urgently need to look after – our only home.
- Luke Jerram

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.