angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

the tide waits for no man (or woman)

...for the last day of our family Christmas holiday in the Gower, we were rewarded with blue skies and sunshine. Just for a moment, when we arrived in Mumbles and it started to drizzle, we wondered if we were in for another wet day, but the clouds soon passed and, by the time we sat down on the veranda of the cafe in Langland Bay, it was nearly as warm as any day we had experienced during 2012's disappointing summer!

Our morning walk continued on to Caswell Bay and from there, we drove up to the pub in Southgate for an excellent lunch. Officially, they were not serving food but the sight of such a large and hungry group quickly changed their minds.

For our afternoon stroll, we walked from the pub, across the golf course, and down into Three Cliffs Bay. It was here that I had planned to capture today's blip and, in support of this, I was lugging my tripod and various other bits of kit. The object of the walk was to 'thread' through the natural arch under the three cliffs and return by way of Pobbles Beach. I could see that the tide was still coming in, so I set off ahead to check that it was still possible to get through the arch and onto Pobbles Beach. Advising everyone that it was possible if they were quick, I stood sentinel on the tidal side of the arch to see everyone through. By the time the stragglers made it through the cave, it was a matter of skipping through the shallow surf to get onto Pobbles Beach. A sound of alarm from my eldest sister caused me turn round and see her up to her knees in water. Some natural instinct to get as far away as possible from the incoming waves had resulted in her wandering into a deep pool close to the rocks. Apart from a squelchy walk back to the car, no damage was done and she now has a great tale of adventure to embellish next time she meets with 'the girls'.

There was, however, one casualty... I was unable to get my image as it would have been unfair to keep my sister hanging around any longer than necessary. Consequently, my blip is not the one I had intended...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.