Kipsie

By Kipsie

Blimin' eck! Look at the time .....

and I'm only just adding my blip.
An early wake up this morning so nipped down stairs made a coffee & brought it back to bed. Weather outside looked gloomy, the trees waving at me. Nah! I don't need to get up just yet, AND I've just started to read a new Cecelia Ahern book, 'Lyrebird', taken off the book shelf here in Millie's home. I really enjoyed The Marble Collector by the same author. A book I picked up last time I was here. Millie settled down again for a while but then started whimpering. :( She's really missing William, who sadly had to be put to sleep a few weeks back. J & V said she was very clingy. Love her.
Back on the Greek yogurt, fresh fruit & granola for breakfast. I had'nt had it for a while as the fruit has'nt had much flavour. Theses strawberries were reduced in the supermarket yesterday so thought I would give them a go. I made my own yogurt when I lived in Thailand, & would have either have papaya or mango with it for breakfast every day.
On our way down the lane I spotted a Shetland pony wedged between the handles of an overturned wheelbarrow. I always look in the paddock for the horses as I pass. I've spoke to the owner about reducing their dung heap, wink, wink, nod, nod. I know where they live, so knew where to find them if it was necessary. . Well, I thought it was wedged. I started to take a video, the pony wriggled from side to side a few times, then removed itself from the handles turned around and wedged itself in facing the other direction and proceeded to wriggle about again so had obviously found away to scratch it's girth & withers at the same time. I reckon it might be retired from the circus lol!!! It certainly made me chuckle, I think I might even have mentioned something to Millie, not that I got any response from her.
Millie & I had a lovely walk around  Cockington Country park, there are some super walks, we went up through the woods across the top footpath on to a section of the John Musgrave Trail then back down through the orchard coming out beside the quaint thatched properties in the middle of Cockington village which is where this waterwheel operates. Not this morning though which made it easier for me to snap :)
Back home, I sent a birthday message to a friend, her 72nd birthday today. We used to work together, do some photography & art together, and are both plantaholics. She's on holiday this week,working on her garden and doing some exterior painting to her property, so I suggested I popped across to say hello. That got a thumbs up, so nipped into the local garden centre, bought her a plant & birthday card,where I bumped into another ex work colleague so stopped to have a chat wither her for 10minutes, found what I wanted, paid & left, then on leaving took a left turning instead of a right thinking it was a shortcut. Ha ha ha!!! I must have missed the signpost as I ended up going all around the back lanes BUT just happened to pass a Sainsbury's, cake always goes well with a cuppa, nipped in picked up two very scrummy fresh fruit tarts, plus a carton of Rodda's clotted cream. Gotta have cream :). On my way again, just entering Ipplepen when I remembered that I wanted to take a photo of the name plaque outside Daisy Cottage, We lived there 29 years ago. We had an Old English sheepdog called Daisy, & we gave the cottage the same name. I made the name plaque with Fimo polymer clay, & it's hung outside the front door ever since. The colours have faded but the plaque detail is as good as new, which I think is pretty amazing. The cottage had a For Sale sign in the front garden. I loved living there. The only property we ever lost money on. Bought during the boom.  By the time I arrived at Bavers house it was lunch time, so we had a beetroot & mayo sarnie. I love fresh beetroot & mayo sarnies, if the beetroot is still warm from cooking, even better :) We then managed to force down our fruit tarts & cream with a cuppa before taking a walk around her garden. She has some very unusual plants so it's never a 5 minute walkabout.
Eventually got away, shot into Asda to pick up some groceries. Not a supermarket I'm familiar with so a tad frustrating locating products when in a hurry. Lots of empty shelves so they must have had a very weekend.
Back to base, dropped off the groceries, took Millie for a nice circular walk, then made a big pan of  smoked ham & vegetable soup for hubby to feed on for a coupe of days. He's not good at fending for himself sadly, &  is'nt that bothered about eating, but does like my home made soups, so a nice big bowl with some crusty baguette goes down  treat.
And now it's 23.40. ............................... Goodnight!

Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday. I hope that all went according to plan in the hospital today & that you make a speedy recovery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.