Kipsie

By Kipsie

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder .....

but I was'nt the only one admiring these wild strawberries. Percy pigeon also had his eyes on them. I was planning to have them on my yogurt for breakfast but he had just finished clearing all the ripe berries as Millie & I returned from our walk and disturbed him. The blighter!! There is nothing better than the flavour of wild strawberries. I've cloched them now so fingers crossed they are pigeon proof. Which reminds me I must net my blueberries up the allotment. They are looking very good for the first season.
I'm sat here with the woodburner glowing, it's quite chilly, how can that be in June. Bonkers!! At least the storms forecast did'nt arrive.

Early start this morning, woke at 5.20. ARGH!! Oh well, coffee & a few more chapters of Lyrebird sat in bed, then up & out with Millie. Our walk around Cockington Country park was perfect. Not a soul on the massive grounds in front of the house. Came across a couple of the 2019 Sculpture Trail exhibits.  They do a trail every year. Last year I left it too late as most of the exhibits had been removed, but could possibly do the complete trail later this week with friends. There's a cafe .. that's always a bonus. 
It's my volunteer morning at the DPHT. Loaded the car up, saucepan of pancetta & veggie soup for hubby, some bits I thought Mum might like that I spotted in Asda yesterday, gardening clothes in case I'm planting up at the centre. Did'nt need them as it turned out, the violas that I planted last Autumn in the troughs are looking fab, so a shame to rip them out. I'll buy some Summer bedding to fill the gaps. Students arrived for their morning working with the ponies. We emptied, cleaned & filled water buckets, filled & damped hay nets, brought the ponies into the yard, them groomed them. Shaun w& I worked together, we cleaned Charlie's hooves, then groomed him. He has a fabulous mane & tail, so looked gorgeous after his beauty treatment. Shaun does'nt say much,  likes to keep his hands in his pockets so getting him picking hooves & grooming meant he had to be hands on. He even had a little chat about  Charlie. :) We stop at 11.30 for drinks and a biccie.
A quick coffee with the students, Kelsey, Sacha, Lauren, & Shaun. Collette & Michelle, staff from the school, plus Angie, Sandra, Katherine the other regular Tuesday morning volunteers. Between us we always have a tale to tell.
From there I whizzed to Mum's with her groceries, then home to see hubby, who was'nt particularly animated. He won't discuss how he feels, & I'm not a mind reader .. very frustrating. I try to bite my tongue but it does'nt always work.  A quick sandwich, check the greenhouse. All looking tickety boo :) Have to dash as Millie has been on her own all morning, although we had a good long walk earlier so she's probably napping. Bit mizzly when I arrive but decide to do a bit of weeding & tidying, it always help me chill. And I NEED to chill. Hubby made me very very angry. PHEW! Well I was chilling until I pinched the flesh on the inside of my thumb with the secateurs. OUCH!!!
There's a flock of seagulls doing an impressive fly past outside .... oh! & then they were gone. Off to find a nice comfy chimney pot to roost on for the night. Won't be on this rooftop LOL!!
Where was I, oh yes, tidied up the Iberis with a short back and sides, dead headed the numerous roses. They look lovely when they are flowering but make such a mess when they drop their petals. Ripped out the bindweed that was everywhere. Cut the scruffy leaves off the banana plants, they are just beginning to unfurl their lush new leaves. Time to walk Millie again .. We walked down and around the park then back along the road. There are so many big houses in Torquay, there must have been a lot of wealth here. Many of them are split into two or flats these days.
Homemade sweet potato & hazelnut burger with sides for dinner tonight. Yummy!
MIGHT have wild strawberries on my brekkers in the morning, IF I get there first.
Thanks to LoisBiz for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.