Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Blast from the past!!

Every now and then my brother Big Al sends me through a photo he has found in the archives and thinks I might like to see. Apparently he was doing some research at the State Library in Perth this morning and this clipping popped up. Of course he sent it straight off to me.

This image brings back so many memories for me. It was taken in Belfast in 1978. The man presenting me with the trophy was the Promotions Manager for Guinness in Northern Ireland. I had just won the Irish Open and as you can see I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself :). It was a big improvement on the 77 Irish Open when I lost in the first round. They were amazing years in my life and I have such wonderful memories of the late 70’s when I was playing competitively in Great Britain. I travelled to Belfast on a few occasions to do coaching clinics and loved every minute of my time spent in that country. The Irish squashies were such a hospitable bunch who tried to sabotage us by tempting us with through their incredible “Baking Skills”. Nothing quite like a home baked Potato Bread!! Thanks Big Al for providing me with an image and a bit of a yarn for my blip today.

Trisharooni called by this afternoon and we had a great time working out how to do photobooks via the Momento system. I think we both learnt a lot and I’m super keen to keep on keeping on and turn my digital images into meaningful and entertaining documentation of my very blessed life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.