Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Singin' in the Rain

I'm singin' in the rain
Just singin' in the rain
What a glorious feeling
I'm happy again
I'm laughin' at clouds
So dark up above
The sun's in my heart  -  Gene Kelly, 1952

Actually, I should rewrite the lyrics to say "beggin' in the rain" which is what this young red-winged blackbird was doing.  Rather surprisingly, the begging was quite subdued which is in contrast to the loud vocalizations of the adult birds.  Anyway, I loved the way it's little head was thrown back, and the visible rain drops.  (All safely photographed from inside my hide, natch!)  And if you look closely, you'll see the remains of its little gape, as well as some pin feathers.

MIL continues to get better and we expect she will be released tomorrow.  Her kidney doctor was in to see her last night and this morning and is managing her medications with the hospital staff.  We like him very much, and very happy to have him on the job.  Her pep is definitely back.  She was moved from the step-down unit to a regular room, which is an excellent sign.  Thank you again for the thoughts, prayers and good wishes. 

Poured rain for much of the day, which didn't stop me getting out in the hide.  Also did a major cardio workout at the gym.  Tomorrow is my weekly walk with my naturalist group, although the weather looks iffy so not sure if we'll go or not.  

Thanks for the love on yesterday's woodpeckers.  You'll be seeing more of them, hopefully.

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.