AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

Elderflower Emergency

It's been one of those days today, freezer nearly empty, no pay till Friday so after an emergency cash arrangement a bit of emergency shopping.

On another note, I've been planning over a few years to have a go at making my own elderflower cordial but always seem to miss the elderflowers not this year. After spotting a few bushes near where I live I started planning to gather some at the weekend. However impatience and boredom got the better of me today. Decided late this afternoon to go for a walk, spotted an elder bush so picked a couple of flower heads, leaving plenty for the birds and other foragers of course. A bit further on another bush, two and a half hours later back home with about 25 flower heads. Check cupboards, plenty of sugar and a couple of lemons, quick online check for recipe damn no citric acid, but a run down the shop 3 more lemons (good job they're cheap lol) now boil some water and I'm ready.

HOLD IT!! Hold it !! I've not got a photo for a blip, quick snap of my tub of elderflowers, that will have to do.

Now an hour or two later 1.8 kg sugar dissolve into 1.2 L hot water, lemons juiced and zested, juice and zest added to sugar solution. Elderflowers lightly washed and roughly destalked then added to solution. Covered and put aside to 'infuse', just gotta wait 24 hours before straining, bottling and most importantly tasting my first attempt at Elderflower cordial. Fingers crossed for a satisfying result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.