Prague

We had a good flight last night and although we were slightly delayed, we landed on time and the hotel driver was waiting for us.  We got to the hotel about 10pm, and when we checked in they gave us a voucher for a welcome drink, so we dropped the case off in the room and went to the bar.  Then we went for a brief stroll to the old town square and watched the Astronomical clock strike 11pm - there were so many people waiting to see the skeleton ring the bell and then other figures start moving around the clock.  Once the show had finished everyone started cheering and clapping - we were quite amused at everyone's reaction!

This morning after breakfast, I walked with Alan to the hotel where his meeting was being held and then I set of for a days' sightseeing.  I crossed the Charles Bridge and went to Mala Strana where I took the funicular up to the top.  I wanted to go back up the Petrin Tower (which I did last year) to blip the amazing view of the city.  The Charles bridge is the one to the furthest right of the the picture and beyond that is the old town.

Last year when we were here towards the end of May, I saw a woodpecker in a tree feeding her baby and I hoped I might see them again - as luck would have it I saw this years' baby (see my extras).  It was making a lot of noise from it's nest and kept popping it's head out looking for mum, and I waited there ages, but she didn't come while I was there.  I has happy to see the little one though.

I caught the funicular back down the hill and when I got to the river, I found a nice little pop up bar right on the edge of the water, so I sat there and had a glass of rose and a bowl of olives while watching the boat.  It's a great spot and very relaxing as they were playing chill out music.

Heading back towards the hotel, I went to a little jewellery shop that sells the Prague garnets  and bought a pendant - last year mum bought me some earrings and I bought a ring, and I'd hoped to find a pendant that matched, so I'm really pleased.

I was showered and changed for when Alan got home from work, and as soon as he'd freshened up we went out.  I'd booked a table at a restaurant that I went to last year, but before dinner I took him to see the sights and we went back to the little bar on the river for apero. Dinner was as good as I'd remembered, we both had Prague Goulash with dumplings and shared a nice bottle of Reisling, and then we strolled back across the bridge and had a walk around the old town again.

It's been a lovely sunny day, about 30 degrees, and I walked 10 miles in total - over 23,000 steps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.