Spoilt for choice....

... and missing Alice:-

1st miss -  I used to enlist Al to select today's entry when spoilt for choice.
: ¬ (
2nd miss - In the same way as "Nelly the elephant" will NEVER EVER sound the same again, I find it hard to look at Verbascums in a garden centre and there were a couple of singularly beautiful ones to day; singled out in such a way that they were alone on a row-end island bay.
BUT
A bit chuffed in that my choice was made by the way I was able to complete one of the Codonopsis (OOPS! might be Platicodon, slip of the brain, went uncorrected.) petals covered by a leaf I hadn't noticed, and add a missing stamen which I had noticed.
(2 o'clock stamen, 5 o'clock petal in case it isn't obvious)
;¬)
I think it was "My word" had a section where they had to tell a tale with certain words as the ending. There was one which involved a fixed Roullette wheel. An expert examined it, and was asked if any numbers were fixed. His answer:-
"Oui, le vingt, l'un."
I lived & learnt today. Checked on Codonopsis to discover:-
See OOPS - above.
"Codonopsis pilosula is used to boost immune system health, promote mental sharpness and memory and as an "adaptogen," similar to the way ginseng is used in traditional Chinese medicine. In fact, you’ll often see codonopsis referred to as “poor man’s ginseng.” This ginseng substitute, also called dangshen, has other potential benefits. Always consult a doctor before trying a new supplement, especially if you have a health condition."



Despite the search being set to UK, USA still crops up in the answers.
I mean, who else would refer to "AN Herb" by dropping the "H"?
It should be noted they studiously KEEP the "H" when referring to a "heinous crime" in one of their cops & Robbers programmes.
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.