I thought about Donald.

Don emigrated to Canada.
In course of time he made friends, as you do. On one visit to a neighbour, If I remember correctly (NOT that it matters for the purposes of the tale)  the man of the house was showing off an item of wood-work his wife had made.
Donald, duly admired it and said words to the effect:-
"Ah, she's a grand little chippie, isn't she?" >>>------> STONEY silence.
I am, rashly, presuming the odd American/Canadian may just see this.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
AHA - BUT:-
To a Brit:-
"Chippy [ chip-ee ]
Noun, plural chip·pies. British Informal.
1. A carpenter.
2. A store selling fish & chips."
(And NOTHING ELSE)

There are a few in town, but I think this is our nearest, certainly the oldest and if not the best, certainly close to.
I'll maybe remember to show his certificate one of these Blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.