Gorges du Verdon

We have been here before but we travelled along the North rim of this amazing place.   Today we visited the South rim and travelled the full length of the gorge from Castellan to Moustieres-Saint-Marie where we have set up camp.

I can't say I enjoyed the drive as I "dont do" heights and the sheer drop at the side of the road freaked me out.   We also had an international incident when we met a dutch car in a tunnel.   We were 2/3 of the way through and had a queue behind us but he refused to try to pass by us (there was plenty of room) or reverse back to the entrance just behind him.   I pulled in as much as I could but to no avail.

Eventually he got the message that he would have to reverse when it became clear why he was so reluctant.  Basically it appears he had never reversed in his life as he swerved all over the place nearly hitting the walls.   Perhaps they don't learn reversing in the Netherlands (sorry no insult intended to any Dutch Blippers) 

I was exhausted by the time we reached ground level again

We may spend 2 nights in this nice campsite and visit the local town tomorrow and maybe cycle down to the lake which looks most inviting. (see Jane's blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.