Sebulon

By sebrose

Invisible foe

The train whisks me from Carluke to Glasgow Central. It’s the start of the working day and the streets are teeming with suited office folk, following their quotidian routes.

Angus is waking up. He goes to get milk while I fire up the laptop and enter the world of Zoom. From the virtual world, I return to the physical, at the kitchen sink, while Angus wields vacuum cleaner and bin bag.

We return together to Kirkurd. It’s sunny. Angus practices some aikido moves, while I return to my virtual life.

A late lunch, and then to Edinburgh. Angus hops a train back to Glasgow and I head to Bruntsfield. There’s 30 minutes before the BCS committee meeting, so I snatch some time lying in the sun on the links. Vonnegut and Leffe Blond.

The meeting is punctuated by two calls. One is from Claire. Her imminent sailing trip to Norway has hit a major hurdle. The boat they were going on has been impounded as part of a legal dispute. Even worse - Alison loaded it with £600 of food & booze yesterday ;(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.