Hill start (and finish) from Lancaster

As the rain lashed against the train window, I sat holding on to my confidence that the sun would shine for the rest of the outing.

I think it's the first time I've been to Lancaster.  I can't say I saw much of it as, from the train station, I headed uphill with my head down all the way past Grit Hill (I needed it) and to Jubilee Tower (jubilate more like!)  The strong westerly wasn't really adding much to my speed!

It's a lovely road so I wasn't really complaining - it just took me a while to get into my cycling legs this morning.  But, once I had, the ride took on the usual joyous feelings of air, space and solitude.  I thoroughly enjoyed reversing the road through the Trough of Bowland and down this gorgeous road into Dunsop Bridge where I happened upon a lovely new tea room - Puddleduck's - complete with about 40 ducks sitting on the road outside.  I wasn't planning to stop quite so early but it was midday by this time and I was feeling peckish.  The people, service and food were great and, feeling replenished, I headed on my way enjoying big fluffy clouds, blue sky and sunshine.

Reaching Settle, I decided I still had fuel to get over the hill into Airton where I found one of my favourite cafes for a second lunch and caffeine hit before the last 30 miles or so home.

An absolute delight of an outing where I surprised myself with the legs to get over the Cow & Calf at the end so I could have the last mile downhill to finish on - the tailwind helped, of course ;)

I’ve now had dinner and my third lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.