The Getty

We were up before dawn to catch our flight to L.A. and 5 hours later we were welcomed by blue skies, cool ocean breezes and lots of traffic.  We picked up the rental car and made our way to The Getty Museum, a favorite destination of ours.  It is spectacularly photogenic and while my husband took one of the hour-long docent-guided tours,  I wandered around with my camera making feeble attempts at architectural photography and spending some time in the gorgeous central gardens.  The campus is huge and I tried my hand at some panoramas: first with the camera pano setting, then with my iPhone and finally I took 5 images with the intent of later stitching them together in Lightroom.  That turned out to be the best one and I have loaded it into the extras along with a few other shots of the Getty.

Please view this in large. 

Late afternoon we went to our hotel in Santa Monica, had a lovely Italian dinner al fresco before we walked down to the beach for sunset.  I did this a few years ago in January and the sun set behind the ocean, but now, two days from the summer solstice, it sets behind Malibu and the Santa Monica Mountains. The clouds had moved in over the mountains and mist settled on the beach. The beach was alive with people awaiting sunset. I have included a few shots taken there too.


I am unable to upload extras but no trouble uploading to Flickr, so if you would like to see additional Getty and Santa Monica Beach shots, please go HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.