Pictorial blethers

By blethers

St Moluag’s, Eoropaidh

For almost all of the 45 years that I’ve been part of the diocese of Argyll and The Isles I’ve been aware of the church of St Moluag’s,  Eoropaidh . I knew it was Out There, North and West and inaccessible. This evening I worshipped there.

We stopped the car in what looked like a small scheme of council houses and set off up a track between two of them. Ahead, though the fine rain, we could see a small, hunched , stone building, very plain, with a large Celtic Cross outside. This was St Moluag’s.

Inside, I was reminded of old churches in France, in Crete. But we were here to join in a prayer service, praying for all who had left their names on the prayer tree.We participated in the intercessions ; we said Compline, we sang plainsong which I’d just managed to find on my phone. The acoustic was glorious.

This is the altar with the candles lit for the objects of our prayer, with the window above it.

Quite a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.