A surprise blip meet

We visited Trench Wood NR this morning to see what was about and had only ventured in about 50m when this large hawker dragonfly (Southern?) buzzed us and then settled right in front of me and posed.  I took him initially with the 300mm lens but he was quite happy for me to swap to the macro and go right in.  Moving on into the wood I was just gazing up at a prominent oak tree to see if there were any purple hairstreaks flying yet when we had the pleasure of meeting fellow blipper JDO who was on a similar mission.  We didn't see any hairstreaks but there were masses of damsel flies and a few beautiful demoiselles as well as a broad bodied chaser at the pond.  

I couldn't decide whether to blip the whole dragonfly or just the face so an extra is included to cover both!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.