Life with Alice

By elirin

Glad Midsommar!

Today is Midsommarafton, Midsummer’s Eve, possibly the most important Swedish holiday. That and Christmas.

The day usually starts with us getting flowers and mum making me a Midsommar wreath. This year, everything in nature is late, which means there were still plenty of flowers out there. I like my wreath but usually end up wearing it only for short periods of time.

We went to Grandma for Midsommar smörgåsbord, with lots of herring and new potatoes and strawberries. No herring for me, but I did get shrimp, meatball and strawberries.

Mum insists that we - us two - sing and dance Small frogs, so that’s what we did. Chillax time and ice cream was next. It was a good Midsommar even though we weren’t at the summer house this year.

The extra is my wreath. If you want to know what Small frogs is, and get a glimpse of Swedish Midsommar traditions: https://youtu.be/07dcd22jPQE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.